Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HVCC logo and library name

Integrating Library Resources into Blackboard

1. Search for Articles

Begin by visiting the Research Databases & Online Resources or browse By Subject or Type and selecting one of the databases.

Database Listing

2. Where to find the URL

In EBSCO databases the persistent link is called the Permalink and can be found on the right side of the page in the tool bar. The persistent URL will be generated above the title of the article and will include the proxy prefix.

Ebsco Article Record

Berg Fashion Library's persistent URL can be found in the share popup (see below). The URL is located under the text, "Bloomsbury Fashion Central." The URL will need the proxy prefix added to the link for off campus access. Please see the Linking Tools page or contact the library's online media specialist for more assistance.

CQ Researcher's persistent link to the article record is located at the bottom of the webpage. The URL will need the proxy prefix added to the link for off campus access. Please see the Linking Tools page or contact the library's online media specialist for more assistance.


Gale databases have the persistent link located as a Bookmark. Click on the bookmark icon at the top of the page and the Bookmark URL will pop up in the window. This URL will include the proxy prefix.

Gale Article Record

JSTOR calls the persistent link a Stable URL, it is located in the citation information below the title. The Stable URL will not include the proxy prefix and it will need to be added for off campus access. Please see the Linking Tools page or contact the library's online media specialist for more assistance.

JSTOR Record

ProQuest calls the persistent URL a Document URL, it is located in the Abstract/Details tab of the article record.

ProQuest Record

ProQuest Record

Ovid provides a persistent URL in the Email Jumstart button on the right side of the page.

Ovid Record

ScienceDirect's persistent URL uses the DOI (Digital Object Identifier). This link will work if the person you are sharing it with is on campus. ScienceDirect's persistent link to the article record is located in the address bar, this is not usually the case with library resources. The address bar URL typically contains information related to the search and will not take the reader directly to the desired page. Please see the homepage for more information. The URL will need the proxy prefix added to the link for off campus access. Please see the Linking Tools page or contact the library's online media specialist for more assistance.

Science Direct

Statista's persistent URL is located in the address bar, this is not usually the case with library resources. The address bar URL typically contains information related to the search and will not take the reader directly to the desired page. Please see the homepage for more information. The URL will need the proxy prefix added to the link for off campus access. Please see the Linking Tools page or contact the library's online media specialist for more assistance.

Statista

3. Adding the link to Blackboard

Once you have copied the link (and added the proxy prefix if needed), log into Blackboard. In the folder you would like the link. Select Build Content and select the sixth option down Web Link. Enter the title in the name field and paste the link into the URL field. Click submit - you're done!