Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HVCC logo and library name

Integrating Library Resources into Blackboard

Why link?

If you've located a resource like an e-book, article, streaming video, or other item from one of the library resources, providing a direct link to it helps students to easily access this item within the context of your online course.

In addition, linking is LEGAL!  Copying PDFs or other digital files from library resources and then uploading the file to Blackboard may be a violation of copyright.  Providing a link is always the better option!

HOWEVER, there are several things to keep in mind:

  1. Each library resource treats linking differently!  You'll need to learn how to link using the tools and options on each platform.  Good news:  this guide will provide instructions for many of the platforms.  More good news:  We're here to help if the instructions don't answer all your questions.
  2. Links must include a special prefix -- a proxy prefix -- so that off-campus or remote users can access library resources.  Otherwise, the content provider won't recognize you as an HVCC student/faculty member who is eligible for access.  Good news:  this guide provides instructions.  More good news:  We're here to help!

About Linking

When you view an article in a library database, the URL for that webpage is either dynamic or persistent.

Dynamic links = the URL was created at the time you did the search in the database and contains information related to your search. A dynamic link is temporary and usually will not work when copied and tried again. If you provide a dynamic URL to others as a link in Blackboard, they will not be able to access the information. Most of the time, the URL in the address bar will be a dynamic link.

Persistent links will get you to the same source every time. Many vendors do a good job of providing persistent links, but not all. Venders call persistent links other names, including:

  • Permalink (EBSCOhost databases)
  • Get Link (Gale databases)
  • Document URL (ProQuest databases)
  • Stable URL (JSTOR database)


For more information please see the Linking Tools page in this guide.