Research Guides: Early Childhood Education: ECCE 227

Faculty Librarian

6 Education Theorists That All Educators Should Know

Infographic
Text

Name	Theory
Lev Vygotsky	Zone of Proximal Development (ZPD) - The range of skills that are a little bit more difficult than what a student can do independantly. Scaffolding - Change in the level of support to meet the ability of the child.
Jean Piaget	Schema - The things a child already knows. Sudents connect new knowledge to an existing schema. Constructivism - Students learn by doing, rather than by being told.
B. F. Skinner	*Behaviorism - Positive reinforcement (praise, rewards, etc. strengthens behavior or increases likelihood that the behavior will be repeated. Negative reinforcement (punishment) pushes child away from a behavior.
Jerome Bruner	*Spiral Curriculum - Children can tackle challenging topics in age appropriate ways. These topics can be revisited and expanded upon year after year.
Benjamin Bloom	*Bloom's Taxonomy - A hierarchy of learning objectives starting with knowledge and growing in complexity to evaluation.
Howard Gardner	*Multiple Intelligences - Humans have several ways of processing information (musical, visual, verbal, logical, etc.)

Ebooks Available on Education Theory and Practice

Theories in Educational Psychology: Concise Guide to Meaning and Practice by Alyssa R. Gonzalez-Dehass
Publication Date: 2012
Each chapter will be infused with practical teaching examples, classroom vignettes, and instructional strategies so readers are continually confronted with how theory translates to practice. (From book summary).
How Children Learn: From Montessori to Vygotsky - Educational Theories and Approaches Made Easy by Linda Pound
Publication Date: 2005
An unrivalled introduction to the pioneers of educational theory that you won't be able to get through your studies without. This must-have book includes profiles on Vygotsky, Steiner, Montessori and Froebel, as well as 24 other theorists. (From book summary).
Influencing Early Childhood Education: Key Figures, Philosophies and Ideas by Linda Pound
Publication Date: 2011
This book explores the thinking and ideas of a range of figures and movements which have influenced the development of early childhood education. The ideas are placed in an historical context and connections between them are identified. (From book summary).

Did this Guide Help?

Please let us know if you found the information you needed:

Yes: 1 votes (100%)

No: 0 votes (0%)

Total Votes: 1

Step 1: Background Research

Educational Theory and Practice in The Early Childhood Setting: Background Research [2:25]
Discover information about your educational theorist and identify keywords for searching.

How Children Learn (New Edition) by Linda Pound
Publication Date: 2014
An ideal introduction to the pioneers of educational theory for anyone studying childcare, child development or education - whether at further or higher education level. (From Abstract).

Step 2: Find Books and Ebooks

Educational Theory and Practice in The Early Childhood Setting: Finding Books & Ebooks [6:30]
Learn how to search for print books and ebooks about your educational theorist.

To search for books, begin by going to the library's OneSearch (https://onesearch.hvcc.edu) next select Advanced Search to the right of the search box. To search only for print books and ebooks:

Select HVCC Catalog
Enter name of Education theorist or Education theory (search terms)
Select Books/ Ebooks under Material Type

Enter Search

Step 3: Find Journal Articles

Educational Theory and Practice in The Early Childhood Setting: Finding Articles [5:55]
Learn how to find articles about your educational theorist and theory in the research databases: Education Source, ERIC, Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection and Social Sciences Full Text.

Education Source This link opens in a new window Collection of full-text education journals, providing scholarly research and information for education students, professionals, and policy makers; covers all levels of education — from early childhood to higher education — as well as all educational specialties.

Begin by searching in the research database Education Source, if you struggle to find articles, you may need to look in additional research databases. The below databases are also recommended for this assignment.

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new window Authoritative database of indexed and full-text educational literature and resources; contains many full-text documents dating back to 1966; includes records for a variety of source types, including journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, policy papers and more.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window Comprehensive, full-text database covering psychology and psychiatry topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, mental processes, observational and experimental methods.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window Covers the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences, full-text resource provides access to the most important English-language social science journals.

Search multiple databases at the same time by selecting Choose Databases.

Step 4: Find Documentary or Educational Videos

Educational Theory and Practice in The Early Childhood Setting: Finding Streaming Videos [5:49]
Learn how to find streaming videos about your educational theorist in the library databases Academic Video Online and Films on Demand.

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window More than 62,000 video titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film and more. AVON includes every kind of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage. Users will find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners as well as the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window More than 30,000 individual videos across all subject areas from producers including BBC, HBO, History Channel, PBS, and dozens of others.

When searching for videos, enter brief searches. Enter the Education theorist's last name or simply the theory.

Early Childhood Education: ECCE 227

Education Theory and Practice in the Early Childhood Education Setting (ECCE 227)

Faculty Librarian

6 Education Theorists That All Educators Should Know

Ebooks Available on Education Theory and Practice

Did this Guide Help?

Step 1: Background Research

Step 2: Find Books and Ebooks

Step 3: Find Journal Articles

Step 4: Find Documentary or Educational Videos

Research

Library Services

Quick Links

About