Research Guides: STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering &amp; Math): Electrical Construction and Maintenance

Electrical Construction and Maintenance Welcome

This library research guide will help you find sources for Electrical Construction and Maintenance.

Where to Get Help!

For all of the ways to contact your librarians click here.

Searching for Books & eBooks

Electrical Construction and Maintenance print books at the Marvin Library are arranged according to the Library of Congress Classification system and will be found on the second floor. They span a wide area and are mostly found in the TK (Technology) section as well as other 2-letter subsections such as TH (Building Construction).

Getting Books From Other Libraries: Marvin Library has many books on most topics. However, you may search for a book and find we do not have it. No problem! We can borrow books (at no charge) from libraries near and far. Use ILLIad through Resource Sharing to request that books and articles be delivered to Marvin Library for you to borrow.

See Also ASM Handbooks

See Also ASTM Standards

Watch the video below, and view these frequently asked questions, to learn how to search for books and ebooks at our library through OneSearch.

Databases for Articles + Handbooks / Standards

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Leading resource for scholarly research with peer-reviewed, full-text journals. Supports high-level research in many disciplines by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books, and more.
Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text and indexed content that covers the full spectrum of the applied sciences and computing disciplines—from acoustics to aeronautics, and neural networks to nuclear engineering.
American Society for Metals (ASM) Handbooks This link opens in a new window
ASM Handbook origins date back to the 1920s, when the society began to publish loose leaf heat treating datasheets. Since then, the distinct and recognizable green ASM Handbooks have evolved into the definitive resource on materials science and engineering for industry professionals. From properties of irons and steels to mechanical testing to medical devices, ASM Handbooks cover a range of topics and contain peer reviewed and time tested information that you can trust.
American Society for Testing Materials (ASTM) International Standards This link opens in a new window
Providing you 24/7 online access to the content developed by ASTM’s worldwide network of experts, ASTM Compass helps you ensure safety, improve quality, and gain a competitive advantage.

See the Home tab of this research guide to see a full list of STEM Databases we offer.

All Databases

A-Z List of All Databases
Databases organized alphabetically
Subject List of All Databases
Databases organized by subject

Open Access Journals

IEEE Open Access Journals
Freely accessible, high-quality, peer reviewed research, on a variety of science and engineering topics.

Selected Journals in our Databases

National Fire Protection Association (NFPA)

https://www.nfpa.org/Codes-and-Standards/All-Codes-and-Standards/Free-access

"As part of its commitment to enhancing public safety, NFPA makes its codes and standards available online to the public for free. Online access to NFPA's consensus documents conveniently places important safety information on the desktops of traditional users as well as others who have a keen interest. NFPA is committed to serving the public's increasing interest in technical information, and online access to these key codes is a valuable resource." "This is a read-only site—documents cannot be downloaded or printed."