This Research Guide covers many of the subjects offered by the School of Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math (STEM).
This following subjects are included in this guide.
View Additional Library Instruction Videos and Tutorials.
We recommend the following databases when searching for articles and other resources related to STEM subjects. A list of all of our databases can be found on our Database Finder. Each tab in this Research Guide may list specific databases and journals that are useful for that subject.
Leading resource for scholarly research with peer-reviewed, full-text journals. Supports high-level research in many disciplines by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books, and more.
**Access available on-campus or through remote access here: https://hvcc.edu/its/resources/remote-access/students.html **
Access to factory-direct repair information. More than 38,000 engine-specific vehicles. In addition to the mechanical repair information offered in ALLDATA Repair, Collision includes OEM procedures such as sectioning and structural repairs, handling of new materials, and panel removal and replacement.
Offers full-text and indexed content that covers the full spectrum of the applied sciences and computing disciplines—from acoustics to aeronautics, and neural networks to nuclear engineering.
ASM Handbook origins date back to the 1920s, when the society began to publish loose leaf heat treating datasheets. Since then, the distinct and recognizable green ASM Handbooks have evolved into the definitive resource on materials science and engineering for industry professionals. From properties of irons and steels to mechanical testing to medical devices, ASM Handbooks cover a range of topics and contain peer reviewed and time tested information that you can trust.
Providing you 24/7 online access to the content developed by ASTM’s worldwide network of experts, ASTM Compass helps you ensure safety, improve quality, and gain a competitive advantage.
Full-text articles of latest information and trends in technology.
Offers full-text and indexing for journal articles, books and monographs covering agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and affiliated areas of study.
More than 30,000 individual videos across all subject areas from producers including BBC, HBO, History Channel, PBS, and dozens of others.
Provides access to more than 1,100 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world; also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
General Science Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines covering the latest scientific developments. Key subjects covered by the database include biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology.
Links to publications, when possible, links go directly to content in other Hudson Valley Community College databases.
Provides scholarly, government and general-interest sources covering the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments and what can be done at each level to minimize negative impacts.
For over 120 years The Merck Index has been regarded as the most authoritative and reliable source of information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals. Now this trusted resource is available online from the Royal Society of Chemistry. The Merck Index Online offers the same highly authoritative information as the print edition in a convenient and easily searchable full text database. It contains over 11,500 monographs – including historic records not available in the print edition.
Includes peer-reviewed research and news of advancements in scientific research worldwide. Access includes full-text of each issue from 1950 to the present.
Provides full-text of the world's major news content; includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines plus television and radio news transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
Information and opinions and on hundreds of today's hottest social issues; provides sources such as viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to reviewed websites.
Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue; provides content that can help students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.
Published by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) - journal includes peer-reviewed research articles and reports of significant advancements in scientific research.
ScienceDirect is the world's leading source for scientific, technical, and medical research. Provides authoritative, full-text articles from scientific, technical and health journals.
Explore the second half of this tutorial to learn how to find articles in Science Direct.
One of the leading statistics companies on the internet; categorized into 21 market sectors, provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.
US Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers: The New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal. Access from 1980 - present.
