It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Fake News: Real News in your Library
A library guide about news hoaxes, misinformation, and propaganda
An easy way to avoid fake news is to get your news from the library's news sources
Using the National Newspapers Core database will give you access to many stories in top newspapers like The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune, for free and without ads.
Provides access to more than 1,100 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world; also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
Provides full-text of the world's major news content; includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines plus television and radio news transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
Information and opinions and on hundreds of today's hottest social issues; provides sources such as viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to reviewed websites.
Provides full-text business publications, on a regional level, for the United States and Canada.
Frequently Asked Questions
Q: Why trust the library's news sources?
A: The news in the library has been selected and curated by information professionals and librarians who objectively study and research what makes a well-rounded news collection.
Q: Why get news from the library instead of on social media?
A: Website algorithms make their platform's news feeds choose stories for us based on factors like our past and current interests, our physical location, and our friends. Put another way, the computer shows us what it thinks we are interested in seeing based on math and data. This can result in an "echo-chamber" or bubble.
Q: Why would I choose library news over the internet?
A: There is so much information (and misinformation) on the internet that it can be hard to navigate through all the material. News in the library has already been filtered, saving you time.
Explore the history of the world using this database. Research the arrival of immigrants to America’s shores, rise and fall of global financial markets, introduction of the mass-produced automobile, television, space travel, and medical innovations, causes and effects of the Civil War in the 1800s to the war on terrorism in this century. Contains years 1851 - 2013.
Full-text reports that provide an in-depth and unbiased coverage of the most important issues of the day including health, social trends, criminal justice,international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy; written by experienced journalists.
Print is Not Dead!
Popular magazines can be found on the first floor of the Marvin Library Learning Commons
The Dwight Marvin Library subscribes to several daily newspapers for you to read in print