Research Guides: Mental Health Resources: Find articles

Journals for this subject

Prominent journals in Mental Health:

Select list of titles:

Aging and Mental Health
Child and Adolescent Psychiatry and Mental Health
Clnical Practice and Epidemiology in Mental Health
Developments in Mental Health Law
Infant Mental Health Journal
International Journal of Mental Health Nursing
Journal of Psychiatric and Mental Health Nursing
American Journal on Addictions
Eating Behaviors: an International Journal
International Journal of Eating Disorders
Journal of Anxiety Disorders
Journal of Traumatic Stress

To look for a particular journal, go to the library web page and click on:

Journal Finder

Mobile App for Medical Databases

To get app: Go to one of the database listed below
Scroll to the bottom of the page and click on iPhone and Android Apps.
Enter your email address to send yourself instructions, a key and a link to the app.

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature Plus with Full Text) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive nursing and allied health research database providing full text to subject specific journals. Additional materials include full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules.
MEDLINE with Full text This link opens in a new window
Most comprehensive source of full text medical journals, providing full text for more than 1.470 journals; Best to use if looking for information about a disease, treatment or clinical trial.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Leading resource for scholarly research with peer-reviewed, full-text journals. Supports high-level research in many disciplines by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books, and more.
OneSearch This link opens in a new window Search everything in one place

Instructions for getting/using the EBSCOhost app

All Library Databases

A-Z list
Databases organized alphabetically
Subject list
Databases organized by subject

Searching Techniques

Databases for this subject

The following databases are particurly useful for finding articles about mental health topics:

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature Plus with Full Text) This link opens in a new window
- CINAHL stands for Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature
- Search by using the CINAHL headings for best results, selecting major concept
MEDLINE with Full text This link opens in a new window
- Used by medical professionals world-wide for the most up-to-date medical information
- Best to use if looking for the more specific technical information about a disease, treatment or clinical trial
- Search by MeSH (Medical Subject Heading) for best results
- Some results will overlap with CINAHL
APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window Provides access full-text peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals; includes current and historical journal coverage.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window Comprehensive, full-text database covering psychology and psychiatry topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, mental processes, observational and experimental methods.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- Located at www.pubmed.gov.
- The same as MedLine with Full Text but the screen searching features are different.
- Available freely anywhere.

Medical Databases - differences

Differences between PubMed, MEDLINE and PMC

Grey Literature

What is the Grey Literature?

In general, grey literature publications are non-conventional, fugitive, and sometimes ephemeral publications.

They may include, but are not limited to the following types of materials:

reports (pre-prints, preliminary progress and advanced reports, technical reports, statistical reports, memoranda, state-of-the art reports, market research reports, etc.)
theses, conference proceedings
technical specifications and standards
non-commercial translations
bibliographies
technical and commercial documentation
official documents not published commercially (primarily government reports and documents

Source: The New York Academy of Medicine, http://www.greylit.org/about

Grey Literature Report
Created by the librarians of the New York Academy of Medicine, subject covered include health services research and urban health topics, publication include theses, conference proceedings, technical reports, preliminary progress reports, statistical reports, etc..

Mental Health Resources: Find articles

Journals for this subject

Mobile App for Medical Databases

All Library Databases

Searching Techniques

Databases for this subject

Medical Databases - differences

Grey Literature

Research

Library Services

Quick Links

About