Skip to main content
HVCC logo and library name

Resources Examining Racism and Structural Inequities:

This guide's purpose

The purpose of this guide is to identify Dwight Marvin Library resources in book (print and electronic) and media formats to facilitate the examination of racism and structural inequities for faculty, staff, and students at Hudson Valley Community College.   The guide will be updated weekly.

Recommend a title for this page

Recommendations for resources that promote the examination of racism or structural inequities are welcome.  Please contact Brenda Hazard, Library Director, by email at b.hazard@hvcc.edu with your recommendations.  Please note that the list is limited to materials currently available in the library; recommendations not currently available will be considered as additions to the library collection.

Recommend a book or other resource for the collection

Click on the link below:

How the library selects materials for its collections

The library's collection development policy guides its decisions in adding, acquiring, and licensing materials for its collections.  

Week of August 10 [titles are available online while library and campus are closed]

Week of July 20 [titles are available online (UNLESS NOTED) while library and campus are closed]

Week of July 13 [titles are available online while library and campus are closed]

Week of July 6 [titles are available online while library and campus are closed]

Week of June 28 [titles are available online while library and campus are closed]

Week of June 21 [titles are available online while library and campus are closed]

Week of June 15 [titles are available online while library and campus are closed]

Search OneSearch, the library's online catalog, for additional resources on this selected subject heading:

Week of June 8 [titles are available online while library and campus are closed]

Search OneSearch, the library's online catalog, for additional resources on this selected subject heading:

Web Resources for Research

  • HVCC Office of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion
    • The College's ODEI provides resources, events, and recordings to support diversity, equity and inclusion on campus and beyond.
  • Black Freedom Struggle in the U.S.
    • A selection of freely available primary sources from 1790 to the present, organized by era.  The collection is curated by ProQuest, a leading publisher of academic resources.
  • Sources in U.S. History: Slavery in America
    • A collection of more than 600 documents from 1760 - 1910 including personal narratives, pamphlets, songs, sermons, and materials.  The collection is published by Gale, a leader publisher of academic resources.
  • Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture and Law
    • A collection numerous documents from origins of American slavery and including modern human trafficking.  External Links section leads to numerous historical archives of related materials now online.  The collection is published by HeinOnline, a major publisher of academic legal sources.  
  • National Museum of African American History and Culture
    • The museum's website includes exhibits, and resources for teachers on talking about race.
  • Local organizations
    • There are numerous local and grassroots organizations, as well as local chapters of national organizations, which advocate for civil rights, document historical inequities and the efforts to address them, and welcome inquiries and engagement.  There is a long history in the Capital Region from known leaders such as Stephen and Harriet Myers and Dr. Alice P. Green to emerging leaders including Free Food Fridge founder Jammella Anderson.  Discover and connect with a local organization!

Videos available from the library

  • Films on Demand 
  • Academic Video Online
  • Swank Digital Campus
    • Feature films (titles change on an annual basis based on campus demand) for 2020-21 include:
      • 4 Little Girls - Spike Lee documentary 
      • Beloved - based on novel by Toni Morrison
      • Black Klansman - based on book by Ron Stallworth, movie directed by Spike Lee
      • The Color Purple - based on novel by Alice Walker
      • Do The Right Thing - iconic Spike Lee production
      • Fences - based on play by August Wilson
      • Get Out - recent thriller directed by Jordan Peele
      • Green Book - Academy Award Best Picture winner starring Mahershala Ali
      • The Help - featuring Academy Award Best Supporting Actress Octavia Spencer
      • Hotel Rwanda - featuring Academy Award Best Actor nominee Don Cheadle
      • If Beale Street Could Talk - based on a novel by James Baldwin
      • Malcolm X - biopic directed by Spike Lee and featuring Denzel Washington
      • Moonlight - Academy Award Best Picture winner starring Mahershala Ali
      • Selma - Academy Award Best Picture nominee 
      • Their Eyes Were Watching God - based on novel by Zora Neale Hurston