Research Guides: Children's Literature: Find Books

On this page you will see:

Instructional screenshots showing searches in the HVCC and SUNY Catalogs
A video about accessing content online from your local public library
Links to recommended free websites with ebooks and audiobooks

Children's Literature Available From the Dwight Marvin Library

The Children's Literature collection is located on the main floor of the Marvin Library near the elevator.

Looking for a specific title or author? Search the HVCC Catalog.

HVCC Catalog
Title or author keyword
Select Books/Ebooks below Material Type
The call number (or address of the book) will be the last piece of information after Available at Dwight Marvin Library Children's Lit

Do you have time to request books from Resource Sharing? Yes! Search the SUNY catalog.

SUNY Catalog
Title or author keywords

Once you sign in to your library account (Single Sign On) you will see Check for available services selecting this text will start a request for the book to be mailed to the HVCC Library for you to borrow. The book will be held for you at the First Floor Service Desk in the Dwight Marvin Library.

Ebooks, Audiobooks and Read-alongs Available From the Public Library

Video: Children's Literature Available Online From Your Public Library

Libby, by OverDrive App

If you live in Albany or Rensselaer Counties your public library is in the Upper Hudson Library System.

Register Online for a Public Library Card
After registration you will receive a temporary barcode that will give you access to most online content. Once public libraries reopen, new applicants can visit their local library to obtain and validate their library card.
UHLS OverDrive
Sign in using your public library barcode number to borrow ebooks, audiobooks, streaming videos, and read-alongs.

If you live in Schenectady County your public library is in the Mohawk Valley Library System.

MVLS OverDrive
Sign in (or sign up!) for your public library card to borrow ebooks, audiobooks, streaming videos, and read-alongs.

Ebooks and Audiobooks Available For Free Online

International Digital Children's Library
This site was started in 2002, as a joint project of the University of Maryland and the Internet Archive and it is know as the premier children's digital library for children, teachers, and librarians. This collection is geared towards children ages 3 - 13 and provides a platform for children's literature and digital media. The collection contains more than 10,000 digitized children's books in 54 languages, including many award-winning books.
L.O.C. Digitized Children's Literature Collection
The Library of Congress provides access to 50 digitized texts of rare books, including The Arabian Nights, A Child's Garden of Verses by Robert Louis Stevenson, A Christmas Carol, and The Secret Garden.
Lit2Go
A collection of classic audiobooks by the Florida Center for Instructional Technology, College of Education, University of South Florida.
Storyline
Storyline Online is available 24 hours a day for children, parents, caregivers and educators worldwide. Each book includes supplemental curriculum developed by a credentialed elementary educator, aiming to strengthen comprehension and verbal and written skills for English-language learners.
Storynory
Free audio streaming of stories and audiobooks.
Tumble Book Library
This is the link to access online ebooks for the libraries in the Upper Hudson Library System. East Greenbush, Guilderland, Albany and more are included in the system.
Unite for Literacy
Over 400 free ebooks that celebrate language and culture.

Find Books

Children's Literature Available From the Dwight Marvin Library

Ebooks, Audiobooks and Read-alongs Available From the Public Library

Ebooks and Audiobooks Available For Free Online

Research

Library Services

Quick Links

About