Skip to Main Content
HVCC logo and library name

Children's Literature: Welcome

A guide to resources for students taking Children's Literature courses.

Welcome

3 bears nyplOn this guide you will find:

  • Introductory sources, reference works and textbooks about Children's Literature
  • Recommended books categorized by subject and award
  • Help with the EDUC 225 annotated bibliography project
  • Professional journals and research databases to search
  • High quality websites

 

 

 

 


Mama bear checks the beds.

Image credit: NYPL Digital Collections 

Children's Literature Collection

The Children's Literature Collection is located on the main floor of the Marvin Library.

photo children's literature

The Children's Literature Collection was started in 2008 to support the Children's Literature courses offered by the Teacher Preparation Department. The collection includes picture books, fiction, and nonfiction appropriate for preschoolers through the sixth grade. It includes works of excellence recognized by children's literature awards including the Caldecott, Coretta Scott King, Newberry, Theodore Geisel, and others.

Books About Children's Literature

Book cover

Silly Books to Read Aloud by Rob Reid

Child. Lit PN1009.A1 R45 2013

book cover

A History of Children's Books in 100 Books by Roderick Cave and Sara Ayad

Child. Lit Z1037.A1 C38 2017

book cover

The Cambridge Companion to Children's Literature edited by M.O. Grenby

Child. Lit PR990 .C36 2009

book cover

The Norton Anthology of Children's Literature edited by Jack Zipes

Child. Lit PZ5 .N655 2004

book cover

Picture Books for Children: Fiction, Folktales and Poetry by Mary Northrup

Child. Lit Z1037 .C565 2012

(Ebook available too!)