Skip to Main Content

Wellness: Find Articles

Use the library databses and these searching tips for finding articles

Magazine Articles

"Your Mood: A USER's MANUAL." Health 29.8 (2015): 111-115. Alt HealthWatch.
New Year's Wellness: Alive: Canada's Natural Health & Wellness Magazine. Jan2012, Issue 351, p22-33. 9p. Alt HealthWatch
"Taking Depression On; Mental Health: Emotional wellness has become a big topic on campus. Suicides and litigation have forced the issue. What students and parents must know." Newsweek 23 Aug. 2004: 59. Health Reference Center Academic.
Click here for more full text magazine articles on emotional wellness from Marvin Library databases.

Journal Articles

Searching Techniques

Databases for the Health Sciences

Associates Programs Source This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text coverage for the subject areas most relevant to two-year college programs.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Best for Nursing students and faculty and other allied health professionals like radiology technicians, dental hygienists, etc.
Search by using the CINAHL headings for best results, selecting major concept

CINAHL stands for Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature

MEDLINE with Full text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Most comprehensive source of full text medical journals, providing full text for more than 1.470 journals; Best to use if looking for information about a disease, treatment or clinical trial.

Used by medical professionals world-wide for the most up-to-date medical information
Best to use if looking for the more specific technical information about a disease, treatment or clinical trial
Search by MeSH (Medical Subject Heading) for best results
Some results will overlap with CINAHL

PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Free medical database created by the U.S.National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health; comprises over 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.

Located at www.pubmed.gov. The same as MedLine with Full Text but the screen and searching features are different.
Available freely anywhere.

What is PubMed video
From the NLM (National Library of Medicine) explains Pubmed and what is in it.

Academic Search This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Leading resource for scholarly research with peer-reviewed, full-text journals. Supports high-level research in many disciplines by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books, and more.

News

Research

Library Services

Quick Links

About

© 2020 Hudson Valley Community College. All Rights Reserved.

Librarian Login

A State University of New York College

Sponsored by Rensselaer County