Broad categories of issues that have impact on families and society:
Books on sociological topics are found in several call number ranges because sociological topics are often interdisciplinary.
Many books are located in the range: HM 1- HT 1600
There are hundreds of Subject Headings useful for sociological topics.
A sample:
Ethnicity
Gender
Housing
Poverty
Social justice
Social problems
Social theory
Socialization
Sociology
Racism
Families
Poverty
Once you have chosen a topic to research, you will need to develop a research question you are wanting to answer.
Examples of research questions:
Does viewing violent television and/or movies have a measurable affect on children's aggressive behavior?
Do children who regularly share mealtimes with the family do better academically?
Are fathers discriminated against in custody cases?
Is racial profiling an effective terror prevention strategy?
Covers the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences, full-text resource provides access to the most important English-language social science journals.
Comprehensive, full-text database covering psychology and psychiatry topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, mental processes, observational and experimental methods.
Full-text, scholarly resources in the arts and sciences include Archival and Current Journals, Books, and Primary Sources.
Leading resource for scholarly research with peer-reviewed, full-text journals. Supports high-level research in many disciplines by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books, and more.
Information and opinions and on hundreds of today's hottest social issues; provides sources such as viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to reviewed websites.
Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue; provides content that can help students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.
A premier source of peer-reviewed, full-text, scholarly content across many academic areas. Millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text; authoritative and comprehensive.