Research Guides: Community and Public Health Resources: Find Articles

Databases for this subject

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Leading resource for scholarly research with peer-reviewed, full-text journals. Supports high-level research in many disciplines by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books, and more.
Health Reference Center Academic This link opens in a new window Provides up-to-date, scholarly, information on a complete range of health care topics; for students, consumers and health care professionals; contains more than 2,500 embargo-free, full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries.
Health Source: Nursing and Academic Edition This link opens in a new window Full-text database offers info on nursing and allied health literature; covers an array of relevant topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and many more. 
MEDLINE with Full text This link opens in a new window Most comprehensive source of full text medical journals, providing full text for more than 1.470 journals; Best to use if looking for information about a disease, treatment or clinical trial.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window Comprehensive, full-text database covering psychology and psychiatry topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, mental processes, observational and experimental methods.
PubMed This link opens in a new window Free medical database created by the U.S.National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health; comprises over 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window Covers the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences, full-text resource provides access to the most important English-language social science journals.

Mobile App for Medical Databases

To get app: Go to one of the database listed below
Scroll to the bottom of the page and click on iPhone and Android Apps.
Enter your email address to send yourself instructions, a key and a link to the app.

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature Plus with Full Text) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive nursing and allied health research database providing full text to subject specific journals. Additional materials include full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules.
MEDLINE with Full text This link opens in a new window
Most comprehensive source of full text medical journals, providing full text for more than 1.470 journals; Best to use if looking for information about a disease, treatment or clinical trial.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Leading resource for scholarly research with peer-reviewed, full-text journals. Supports high-level research in many disciplines by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books, and more.
OneSearch This link opens in a new window Search everything in one place

Instructions for getting/using the EBSCOhost app

All Library Databases

A-Z list
Databases organized alphabetically
Subject list
Databases organized by subject

Searching Techniques

Medical Databases - differences

Differences between PubMed, MEDLINE and PMC

Grey Literature

What is the Grey Literature?

In general, grey literature publications are non-conventional, fugitive, and sometimes ephemeral publications.

They may include, but are not limited to the following types of materials:

reports (pre-prints, preliminary progress and advanced reports, technical reports, statistical reports, memoranda, state-of-the art reports, market research reports, etc.)
theses, conference proceedings
technical specifications and standards
non-commercial translations
bibliographies
technical and commercial documentation
official documents not published commercially (primarily government reports and documents

Source: The New York Academy of Medicine, http://www.greylit.org/about

Grey Literature Report
Created by the librarians of the New York Academy of Medicine, subject covered include health services research and urban health topics, publication include theses, conference proceedings, technical reports, preliminary progress reports, statistical reports, etc..

Community and Public Health Resources: Find Articles

Articles/Journals

Articles & Journals

Databases for this subject

Mobile App for Medical Databases

All Library Databases

Searching Techniques

Medical Databases - differences

Grey Literature

Research

Library Services

Quick Links

About