Research Guides: Health, Physical Education and Exercise Studies: Find Articles

Searching Techniques

Sports databases

SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window Provides literature for sports and sports medicine journals, providing full-text content from many well-known and respected sources.
Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine Collection This link opens in a new window Contains academic journals and magazines covering the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine. The database offers a wide spectrum of information, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research, and more.

Medical Databases

MEDLINE with Full text This link opens in a new window Most comprehensive source of full text medical journals, providing full text for more than 1.470 journals; Best to use if looking for information about a disease, treatment or clinical trial.
PubMed This link opens in a new window Free medical database created by the U.S.National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health; comprises over 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature Plus with Full Text) This link opens in a new window Comprehensive nursing and allied health research database providing full text to subject specific journals. Additional materials include full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules.

Psychology databases

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive, full-text database covering psychology and psychiatry topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, mental processes, observational and experimental methods.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences, full-text resource provides access to the most important English-language social science journals.

BEST BET for all subjects

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Leading resource for scholarly research with peer-reviewed, full-text journals. Supports high-level research in many disciplines by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books, and more.
OneSearch This link opens in a new window Search everything in one place

Education database

Education Source This link opens in a new window Collection of full-text education journals, providing scholarly research and information for education students, professionals, and policy makers; covers all levels of education — from early childhood to higher education — as well as all educational specialties.

Consider these KEYWORDS and SEARCH STRATEGIES when looking up information on phys. ed., exercise, sports, etc.:

"physical fitness"

exercise and sport

coach* and education

health and wellness and employe*

"muscle building" and athelete*

employe* and (pt or physical therapy) and return and work