Research Guides: Nursing: Find articles

Important Nursing Journals

To get app: Go to one of the database listed below
Scroll to the bottom of the page and click on iPhone and Android Apps.
Enter your email address to send yourself instructions, a key and a link to the app.

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature Plus with Full Text) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive nursing and allied health research database providing full text to subject specific journals. Additional materials include full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules.
MEDLINE with Full text This link opens in a new window
Most comprehensive source of full text medical journals, providing full text for more than 1.470 journals; Best to use if looking for information about a disease, treatment or clinical trial.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Leading resource for scholarly research with peer-reviewed, full-text journals. Supports high-level research in many disciplines by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books, and more.
OneSearch This link opens in a new window Search everything in one place

Public/Community Health

CHI Navigator
Contains information on inventions in Community Health. Four action areas include: Socioeconomic factors, physical environment, health behaviors and clinical care.
Database of Promoting Health Effectiveness Reveiws (DOHER)
Covers systematic and non-systematic reviews of effectiveness in health promotion and public heath
Disaster Lit
Covers disaster medicine and public health. Includes expert guidelines, research reports, conference proceedings, training classes, and fact sheets

Palliative Care

CareSearch Grey Literature
Focuses on palliative care information and evidence. Contains conference abstracts and govt. publications and journals articles not indexed in MedLine, CINAHL or PsycInfo.

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature Plus with Full Text) This link opens in a new window
Best for Nursing students and faculty and other allied health professionals like radiology technicians, dental hygienists, etc.
Search by using the CINAHL headings for best results, selecting major concept

MEDLINE with Full text This link opens in a new window
Most comprehensive source of full text medical journals, providing full text for more than 1.470 journals; Best to use if looking for information about a disease, treatment or clinical trial.

Used by medical professionals world-wide for the most up-to-date medical information
Best to use if looking for the more specific technical information about a disease, treatment or clinical trial
Search by MeSH (Medical Subject Heading) for best results
Some results will overlap with CINAHL

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Free medical database created by the U.S.National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health; comprises over 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.

Located at www.pubmed.gov. The same as MedLine with Full Text but the screen and searching features are different.
Available freely anywhere.

What is PubMed video
From the NLM (National Library of Medicine) explains Pubmed and what is in it.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Leading resource for scholarly research with peer-reviewed, full-text journals. Supports high-level research in many disciplines by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books, and more.

What is the Grey Literature?

In general, grey literature publications are non-conventional, fugitive, and sometimes ephemeral publications.

They may include, but are not limited to the following types of materials:

reports (pre-prints, preliminary progress and advanced reports, technical reports, statistical reports, memoranda, state-of-the art reports, market research reports, etc.)
theses, conference proceedings
technical specifications and standards
non-commercial translations
bibliographies
technical and commercial documentation
official documents not published commercially (primarily government reports and documents

Source: The New York Academy of Medicine, http://www.greylit.org/about

Grey Literature Report
Created by the librarians of the New York Academy of Medicine, subject covered include health services research and urban health topics, publication include theses, conference proceedings, technical reports, preliminary progress reports, statistical reports, etc..