Research Guides: Chemical Dependency Counseling: Find Articles

Journals for this subject

Below is a selected list of Chemical Dependency Counseling journals available online at the Dwight Marvin library:

Chemical Dependency Counseling may be covered in databases related to health sciences or general information:

Try these:

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature Plus with Full Text) This link opens in a new window Comprehensive nursing and allied health research database providing full text to subject specific journals. Additional materials include full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules.
MEDLINE with Full text This link opens in a new window Most comprehensive source of full text medical journals, providing full text for more than 1.470 journals; Best to use if looking for information about a disease, treatment or clinical trial.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window Comprehensive, full-text database covering psychology and psychiatry topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, mental processes, observational and experimental methods.
APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window Provides access full-text peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals; includes current and historical journal coverage.
PubMed This link opens in a new window Free medical database created by the U.S.National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health; comprises over 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.

What is the Grey Literature?

In general, grey literature publications are non-conventional, fugitive, and sometimes ephemeral publications.

They may include, but are not limited to the following types of materials:

reports (pre-prints, preliminary progress and advanced reports, technical reports, statistical reports, memoranda, state-of-the art reports, market research reports, etc.)
theses, conference proceedings
technical specifications and standards
non-commercial translations
bibliographies
technical and commercial documentation
official documents not published commercially (primarily government reports and documents

Source: The New York Academy of Medicine, http://www.greylit.org/about

Grey Literature Report
Created by the librarians of the New York Academy of Medicine, subject covered include health services research and urban health topics, publication include theses, conference proceedings, technical reports, preliminary progress reports, statistical reports, etc..