Consider these search words/strategies when looking up information on VIRUSES
virus* and epidemic*
pandemic and disease
microbiology and virus*
virus and disease*
Most relevant databases to use for searching infectious diseases and viruses:
MEDLINE with Full textThis link opens in a new windowMost comprehensive source of full text medical journals, providing full text for more than 1.470 journals; Best to use if looking for information about a disease, treatment or clinical trial.
PubMedThis link opens in a new windowFree medical database created by the U.S.National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health; comprises over 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Academic SearchThis link opens in a new windowLeading resource for scholarly research with peer-reviewed, full-text journals. Supports high-level research in many disciplines by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books, and more.
CINAHL Plus with Full TextThis link opens in a new windowComprehensive nursing and allied health research database providing full text to subject specific journals; Additional materials include full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules.
includes publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association. In addition, this resource offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals, book chapters and more.
covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
Search prepared by the National Library of Medicine.
Conducted with the following combinations of keywords:
- COVID-19 and PubMed Clinical Queries
- NCBI SARS COV-2 literature, sequence, and clinical contents