Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HVCC logo and library name

Health Information Management and Technology: Articles/Journals

Journals for this subject

Here is a selected list of Medical Transcription/Billing and Coding journals available online and/or in print at the Marvin library:

Billing Alert for Long Term Care

Briefings on Coding Compliance Stratgeies

Medical Records Briefing

A selected list of Medical journals available online or in print at the Marvin library:

Lancet

Nature - Medicine - up to 1 year ago

New England Journal of Medicine

Science

All Library Databases

Searching Techniques

searching techniques

Databases for this subject

Medical Transcription/Billing and Coding may be covered in databases related to health sciences or general information:

Health Sciences databases

General databases

In particular, you may wish to search these specific databases:

  • Associates Program Source:
    • New this year!
    • Covers nearly 1,000 full-text journals
    • Designed specifically for 2 year colleges with comprehensive coverage of the most relevant associate level progams
  • CINAHL Plus with Full Text
    • CINAHL stands for Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature
    • Contains journal articles from 2,900 journals in the field of nursing and allied health
    • Best for Nursing students and faculty and other allied health professionals like radiology technicians, dental hygienists, etc.
    • Search by using the CINAHL headings for best results, selecting major concept
  • MEDLINE with Full Text:
    • Used by medical professionals world-wide for the most up-to-date medical information
    • Best to use if looking for the more specific technical information about a disease, treatment or clinical trial
    • Search by MeSH (Medical Subject Heading) for best results
    • Some results will overlap with CINAHL
  • PUBMED: Located at www.pubmed.gov.  The same as MedLine with Full Text but the screen searching features are different. 
    • Available freely anywhere.
  • Grey Literature:
    • Created by the librarians of the New York Academy of Medicine
    • Grey Literature are publications that are not controlled by commercial publishers.  These publications include but are not limited to theses, conference proceedings,  technical reports, preliminary progress reports, statistical reports, etc.
    • Often times these publications are hard to find; this database gathers many types of grey literature
    • This type of literature is being used in evidence-based review to remove bias

Grey Literature

What is the Grey Literature?

In general, grey literature publications are non-conventional, fugitive, and sometimes ephemeral publications.

They may include, but are not limited to the following types of materials:

  • reports (pre-prints, preliminary progress and advanced reports, technical reports, statistical reports, memoranda, state-of-the art reports, market research reports, etc.)
  • theses, conference proceedings
  • technical specifications and standards
  • non-commercial translations
  • bibliographies
  • technical and commercial documentation
  • official documents not published commercially (primarily government reports and documents

Source:  The New York Academy of Medicine, http://www.greylit.org/about