Research Guides: Biography: Biographical Information in Web Sites

Biographical Information from the Internet

Using a Search Engine, such as Google, can lead to a great deal of biographical information. CAUTION! The results are often a mix of quality sources and dubious material. You can use Advanced Search and limit the domain to .edu or .gov or .org. Doing so will eliminate .coms from your search. However, some .com sites offer quality information.

The links below will lead you to quality web sites that may be useful in your search for biographical information:

Academy of Achievement
For more than 45 years, this unique non-profit entity has sparked the imagination of students across America and around the globe by bringing them into direct contact with the greatest thinkers and achievers from all walks of life.
All biographies
Includes biographies of authors, presidents, historic figures and more.
Biography.com
Biography.com is connected to the television channel A & E, as well as the History Channel. It has lots of advertising, but there are links to many biographies, including historical figures, sport biographies, etc.
Time 100
Time magazine's list of 100 influential people of the year and the century. This list includes world leaders, artists, sport's heroes and more.

Literary Sources

American Academy of Poets
The American Academy of Poets website offers information on poets and their poetry. Brief biographical sketches are provided for each poet.
Drop Me Off in Harlem
From ARTSEDGE, a project of the John F. Kennedy Center for Perfoming Arts, this website provides links to biographical information on the people associated with the Harlem Renaissance, 1917-1935. Such figures as Cab Calloway and Bessie Smith, Zora Heale Hurston and Langston Hughes, and others are included.
Famous Poets
Presents biographies of some famous poets and writers of all ages.
Poetry Foundation
Biographies of contemporary and classical poets.

Historical Sources

American History - biograrphies
This area contains data regarding historical persons related to American History.
Distinguished Women Past and Present
This site has biographies of women who contributed to our culture in many different ways. There are writers, educators, scientists, heads of state, politicians, civil rights crusaders, artists, entertainers, and others. Some were alive hundreds of years ago and some are living today.
Women's History - Biographies
Biographies of famous women from the National Women's History Museum

Political Sources

Biographical Dictionary of the United States Congress
This is a searchable database that provides brief bios and career highlights for US Congress members from the earlist days of our history.
Governors - National Governers Association
Brief biographies and contact information for all current U. S. governors. The "Search All Governors" provides advanced search features and information on governors of the past.
Women and Politics
The Center for American Women and Politics (CAWP), a unit of the Eagleton Institute of Politics at Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey. CAWP is one of the leading sources of scholarly research and current data about American women’s political participation.

Sciences

4,000 years of women in Science
Over 125 biographies of women scientists
Astronaut Biographies
Biographies of current and past astronauts.
Biogaphies of Women Physicists
Descriptions of important contributions to science made by 83 women in the 20th century
Biographies of Women Mathematicians
Agnes Scott College, in Atlanta, Georgia, maintains this website to highlight the accomplishments of women in the field of Mathmatics.
The Faces of Science - African Americans in the Sciences
Profiled here are African American men and women who have contributed to the advancement of science and engineering
Biographical Memoirs National Academey of Science
These biographies provide a personal and scholarly view of the lives and works of America's most distinguished scientists and a biographical history of science in the United States,

Sports

Famous Women Athletes
A chronology of the history of female athletes around the world, beginning in 776 BC and continuing through the present. From the American Association of University Women (AAUW)
Sports Illustrated for Women: Top 100 Female Athletes
This website provides a list of the top 100 female athletes according to Sports Illustrated magazine.
Top 100 Sports Personalities
A list of the top 100 people in the world of sports
Women Athletes
Information on women in the field of sports. Founded in 1974 by tennis legend, Billie Jean King, the Women's Sports Foundation is dedicated to advancing the lives of girls and women through sports and physical activity.

Biographical Information in Web Sites

Biographical Information from the Internet

Literary Sources

Historical Sources

Political Sources

Sciences

Sports

Research

Library Services

Quick Links

About