To link to library resources in Brightspace, use the permanent URL (a non-changing web address). These are also known as persistent links or permalinks. Contact a librarian if you cannot find the permanent link for a particular book, book chapter, article or video.
DO NOT COPY AND PASTE THE LINK FROM THE WEB BROWSER.
This dynamic link is temporary and usually will not work when copied and tried again.
How to link to resources:
Off-Campus Access:
Why is an EZ Proxy prefix needed?
Article and book databases are subscription services available through the Hudson Valley Community College web site. They are not available to the general public from off-campus. Links must include a special prefix -- a proxy prefix -- so that off-campus or remote users can access library resources. Otherwise, the content provider won't recognize you as an HVCC student/faculty member who is eligible for access.
The proxy prefix is the first part of the persistent link which allows HVCC community members to access library content off campus.
HVCC's proxy prefix is: https://proxy.hvcc.edu:2443/login?url=
A complete persistent URL including the proxy prefix will look like this:
https://proxy.hvcc.edu:2443/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=a9h
Caution: This generator will add the proxy prefix to URLs that do not need the prefix, like Google Scholar, and URLs that already include the proxy prefix.
Link students directly to databases you want them to use for research assignments.
1. Visit the Database Finder page.
2. Choose the database you wish to include. Click the Share button to copy the persistent link to the database.
3. Paste the link into Brightspace.
To create a permalink to a record found in OneSearch, click on the permalink icon (with chainlink) and copy the URL.
*records in OneSearch do not need an ezproxy prefix
Once in the Detailed Record, click Download PDF or Available Online for access to the full article or EBook.
In EBSCO databases the persistent link is called the Permalink and can be found on the right side of the page in the tool bar. The persistent URL will be generated above the title of the article and will include the proxy prefix.
CQ Researcher's persistent link to the article record is located at the bottom of the webpage. The URL contains the proxy prefix for off campus access.
Gale databases have the persistent link located as a Get Link. Click on the icon at the top of the page and the link will pop up in the window. The URL will need the proxy prefix added to the link for off campus access. Please see the Linking Tools page or contact the library's online media specialist for more assistance.
JSTOR calls the persistent link a Stable URL, it is located in the citation information below the title. The Stable URL will not include the proxy prefix and it will need to be added for off campus access. Please see the Linking Tools page or contact the library's online media specialist for more assistance.
ProQuest calls the persistent URL a Document URL, it is located in the Abstract/Details tab of the article record. The Document URL will include the proxy prefix for off campus access.
ScienceDirect's persistent URL uses the DOI (Digital Object Identifier). This link will work if the person you are sharing it with is on campus. ScienceDirect's persistent link to the article record is located in the address bar, this is not usually the case with library resources. The address bar URL typically contains information related to the search and will not take the reader directly to the desired page. Please see the homepage for more information. The URL will need the proxy prefix added to the link for off campus access. Please see the Linking Tools page or contact the library's online media specialist for more assistance.
Statista's persistent URL is located in the address bar, this is not usually the case with library resources. The address bar URL typically contains information related to the search and will not take the reader directly to the desired page. Please see the homepage for more information. The URL will need the proxy prefix added to the link for off campus access. Please see the Linking Tools page or contact the library's online media specialist for more assistance.
In Academic Videos Online Premium the persistent link for each video is located below the media player. Select Share, and a window will open below with the permalink and embed code options.
In Films on Demand the persistent link for each video is located below the media player, select Share, a window will open below with the segment link as well as the full title link. Films on Demand also allows you to create custom segments and link directly to your chosen clip, select the scissors icon for Segment.
Contact Sierra Pasquale, Web Services Librarian at s.pasquale@hvcc.edu with any questions.