Research Guides: Diversity in the workplace: LGBT

Books (electronic and print)

The Lavender Scare by David K. Johnson
ISBN: 9780226401904

Publication Date: 2006-05-15

(Print Book) Johnson recreates the vibrant gay subculture that flourished in New Deal-era Washington and takes us inside the security interrogation rooms where thousands of Americans were questioned about their sex lives. The homosexual purges ended promising careers, ruined lives, and pushed many to suicide. But, as Johnson also shows, the purges brought victims together to protest their treatment, helping launch a new civil rights struggle.
Out at Work by Kitty Krupat; Patrick McCreery (Editor)
ISBN: 0816637415

Publication Date: 2001-01-03

(Electronic Book) Although mainstream gay rights organizations have tended to imagine their community as primarily middle class, an overwhelming number of lesbians and gays are working class, and many are already union members. Out at Work identifies the important parallels between the labor and gay rights movements and their shared work of foregrounding human rights, fighting homophobia, and embracing the full range of sexual expression.
Federal Employees and Sexual Orientation in the Workplace by Ross Henderson
ISBN: 9781634843768

Publication Date: 2016-01-01

(Electronic Book) Prior to 1975, Federal Government policy considered an individual's sexual orientation when determining suitability for Federal employment. This book examines sexual orientation and gender identity discrimination in employment, and provides policies, perception, and protections against discrimination in the workplace.
LGBTQ Stats by Bennett Singer; David Deschamps; Jennifer Finney Boylan (Afterword by)
ISBN: 9781620972441

Publication Date: 2017-01-24

(Print Book) LGBTQ Stats chronicles the ongoing LGBTQ revolution, providing the critical statistics, and draws upon and synthesizes newly collected data. Deschamps and Singer - whose previous books and films on LGBTQ topics have won numerous awards and found audiences around the globe - provide chapters on family and marriage, workplace discrimination, education, youth, criminal justice, and immigration, as well as evolving policies and laws affecting LGBTQ communities.
Sexual orientation and the Federal workplace : policy and perception : a report to the President and Congress of the United States
ISBN: 9780160942563

Publication Date: 2014

(Electronic Book) This study examined Federal employee perceptions of workplace treatment based on sexual orientation, reviewed how Federal workplace protections from sexual orientation discrimination have evolved, and determined if further action is warranted to communicate or clarify those protections.
Changing Corporate America from Inside Out by Nicole C. Raeburn
ISBN: 9780816639984

Publication Date: 2004-08-16

(Electronic Book) Nicole Raeburn's analysis focuses on the mobilization of lesbian, gay, and bisexual employee networks over the past fifteen years to win domestic partner benefits in Fortune 1000 companies. Raeburn reveals the impact of the larger social and political environment on corporations' openness to gay-inclusive policies, and what strategies have been most effective in transforming corporate practices.
The Gay Revolution by Lillian Faderman
ISBN: 9781451694123

Publication Date: 2016-09-27

(Print Book) This title has a chapter titled, "A forty-year war: The struggle for workplace protection."
Sex at Work by Mari Florence
ISBN: 9781563437373

Publication Date: 2001

(Electronic Book) This title contains a chapter titled "Orientation" that focuses on discrimination based on sexual orientation circa 2001.

Databases

Business Source
LGBTQ+ Source

LGBTQ+ Source is the definitive database for LGBTQ+ studies. It provides scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines and newspapers. It also includes a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms.

To find articles in these databases, consider searching with one of the following Subject Terms.

LGBTQ+ employees
EMPLOYMENT of LGBTQ+ people
Gender identity in the workplace
Transgender people -- Employment
Transgender employees
Homosexuality in the workplace
Homophobia in the workplace
Diversity in the workplace
Bisexual employees
LGBTQ+ people -- Employment -- Law & legislation
LGBTQ-friendly businesses
Homophobia
Transgender Rights
Gay Rights
Work environment

US Major Dailies

US Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers: The New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal. Access from 1980 - present.

Streaming Videos

Websites

U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission
The U.S. EEOC is responsible for enforcing federal laws that make it illegal to discriminate against a job applicant or an employee because of the person's race, color, religion, sex (including pregnancy, transgender status, and sexual orientation), national origin, age (40 or older), disability or genetic information.
New York State Division of Human Rights
The NYS DHR receives, investigates, prosecutes, and resolves complaints of discrimination in employment (and other areas) based on sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, and a number of other protected classes.
A Workplace Divided: Understanding The Climate For LGBTQ Workers Nationwide
A 2018 report from The Human Rights Campaign

Articles

Civil Rights Law Protects Gay and Transgender Workers, Supreme Court Rules
June 15, 2020 New York Times article by Adam Liptak
Creating a Trans-Inclusive Workplace
Harvard Business Review. Mar/Apr2020, Vol. 98 Issue 2, p114-123.
Is it safe to bring myself to work? Understanding LGBTQ experiences of workplace dignity.
Canadian Journal of Administrative Sciences (John Wiley & Sons, Inc.). June 2017, Vol. 34 Issue 2, p133-148.
'My People': The Potential of LGBT Employee Networks in Reducing Stigmatization and Providing Voice
International Journal of Human Resource Management. March 2018, Vol. 29 Issue 5, p1056-1081.

Diversity in the workplace: LGBT

Books (electronic and print)

Databases

Streaming Videos

Websites

Articles

Streaming Videos

Research

Library Services

Quick Links

About