Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HVCC logo and library name

Polysomnography: Saving Searches and Alerts

Search Alerts

What is a saved search, journal alert or a search alert? 

A saved search or a search alert is a specific search that is saved within a database that is run on a routine basis.  The results are sent to the user periodically with new information that has been published. 

A journal alert is an email that is sent to you when new issues of a particular journal are published.

Example 1: 
Setting up a journal alert.  What's new in the journal Sleep Review?  You can set up a search alert to have the table of contents sent directly to your email with all the newly published articles per month for this journal.

Example 2: 
Saving a search alert on a particular topic.
  I'm studying sleep apnea and would like to know when new articles are published in this subject.  You can set up a search alert for this specific search and you will be sent an email when new articles are available.

Save Searches and Search Results - PubMed

Follow the online instructions to save searches or save search results (articles) in collections using your My NCBI account in the PubMed database.

Saving a Search as an Alert - MEDLINE with Full-text

Follow the online instructions to save searches in your personal My EBSCOhost Account using the MEDLINE Full-Text database.

Setting up a Journal Alert - MEDLINE with Full-text

Follow the online instructions to set up a journal alert in your personal My EBSCOhost Account using the MEDLINE Full-Text database.

Using the Folder - MEDLINE with Full-text

Follow the online instructions to use the folder and save articles  in your personal My EBSCOhost Account using the MEDLINE Full-Text database.

Health Sciences Librarian

Cynthia Koman's picture
Cynthia Koman
Contact:
Hudson Valley Community College
Phone: 518-629-7360
Email: c.koman@hvcc.edu

Areas of Expertise:
Health Sciences Library Liaison
Alma ACQ and Analytics

Weekday Availability:
Monday - Friday: 9:00am - 5:00pm.