Skip to Main Content
HVCC logo and library name

Dr. Joseph J. Bulmer Award for Excellence in Library Research:

The award-winner receives a monetary award, is recognized at Student Honors Convocation, in the commencement program and on a perpetual plaque in the Dwight Marvin Library Learning Commons.

Apply Today!

The deadline for 2023 consideration is Wednesday, February 1, 2023.

Award Selection Criteria

image of award medalA winning paper will meet all of the following criteria:

  • Grade of A
  • Extensive bibliography with minimum of five sources
  • Evidence of initiative, persistence, and ingenuity in identifying sources
  • Evidence of critical thinking in evaluating sources for credibility and appropriateness
  • Correct citation format
  • Authentic academic work, i.e., free of plagiarism (papers may be reviewed using or similar software)


Tips for Achieving Excellence in Library Research

“Tell me and I'll forget; show me and I may remember; involve me and I'll understand.” - Chinese Proverb

Tips for Getting Started:

One way to get started is to meet with a librarian, we can lead you to the best sources that will help you complete your research assignment. Here are a few tips to help you along the way:

  1. Start early. Give yourself plenty of time to find and review sources, and time to ask for help.
  2. Test your potential research topic in the library's OneSearch.
  3. Identify keywords and appropriate research databases to search.
  4. Email, print, or save sources you find.
  5. Cite as you write!

And if you feel overwhelmed, you can always Ask a Librarian! 

Tips for Writing Success:

Online writing assistance is available by enrolling in the Learning Centers - Writing Organization on Blackboard, to enroll:

  1. Login to Blackboard
  2. Select the Community tab in the upper right corner below your name
  3. In the box Instructional Support - Learning Centers 
  4. Select the link Writing
  5. Select submit to enroll in online support

Online you will be able to submit papers for review, find helpful resources for writing and meet with a writing specialist.

Past Award Recipients

The 2021 - 2022 award recipient. Amanda Grace Witherell for her paper, “How Does Routine Caffeine Use Affect the Health of Its Consumers, submitted in fulfillment of the requirements for English Composition I, under the direction of Assistant Professor, Sara Kennedy.

The 2020 - 2021 award recipient: Roo Hicks for the paper, "A Look Into Transgender History, And the Way It’s Been Erased" submitted in fulfillment of the requirements for English Composition I by Assistant Professor Anthony L. Podlaski

The 2019 - 2020 award recipient: Yang Liu for the paper, "The Declining Fertility in China" written under the direction of Instructor Joshua Kohan for English Composition for Foreign Born. 

The 2018 - 2019 award recipient: Sabine Huebner for the research paper, "Effects of Misunderstood Plastic Wonder for the Oceans and the World!" written under the direction of Instructor Joshua Kohan for English Composition for Foreign Born.

2018-19 Honorable Mention awarded to Meredith Grace Youngmann for the paper, "Bronte the Babe" written in fulfillment of the requirements of English Composition for Associate Professor Basia Reynolds.

The 2017 - 2018 award recipient: Averi Panichi for the paper, "Substitutions for Animal Research: Aiding the 3Rs and Benefitting All" submitted in fulfillment of the requirements for English Composition I by Assistant Professor Anthony L. Podlaski.

The 2016-17 award recipient: Thomas Michael Smith for the paper, "Few New Antibiotics: Even in the Face of Antibiotic Resistance" submitted in fulfillment of requirements for English Composition, under the direction of Assistant Professor Sara Kennedy.

The 2015 - 2016 award recipient: Sydney Phillips for the research paper "Juror Exclusion" submitted by Dr. Ann Geisendorfer in fulfillment of the requirements for Criminal Justice Capstone Seminar.

2015 - 2016 Honorable Mention awarded to Jennifer Edwards for "The Amazing World of Play" submitted by Eileen Mahoney in fulfillment of the requirements for Techniques of Teaching Through Play, and Rebecca Inglis for "Automation: The Debate of Innovation" submitted by Anne Dearing in fulfillment of the requirements for English Composition II.

The 2014 - 2015 award recipient: Matt Sterlina for the paper on scientist Lord William Thomson Kelvin in fulfillment of the requirements for Chemistry I, nominated by Dr. Danica Nowosielski.

The 2013 - 2014 award recipients: Katie M. Burns for the English Composition II paper "Postsecondary Correctional Education: Reducing Recidivism Through Educational Empowerment" submitted by Associate Professor Anne Dearing; and Melissa Stark for the English Composition I paper, "What Causes Led to the Uprising in Syria?" submitted by Associate Professor Sushmita Chatterji.

The 2012 - 2013 award recipient: Erin Sawyer for the paper "Stuck in the Middle: Middle Class Voting Behavior and its Determining Factors" submitted by Associate Professor Sushmita Chatterji of the English, Modern Languages and English as a Second Language Department.

The 2011 - 2012 award recipient: Seth Robinson for the paper, "Jacques Alexandre Cesar Charles." He was nominated by Assistant Professor Danica Nowosielski of the Biology, Chemistry and Physics Department.

The 2010 - 2011 award recipient: Max Popiel.

The 2009 - 2010 award recipient: Julene Eayrs.

For More Information, contact...

Dr. Joseph J. Bulmer


Dr. Joseph J. Bulmer, President, 1979-1996

Dr. Joseph J. Bulmer • 1929 - 2006
President, 1979-1996

Perpetual Plaque in Marvin Library Learning Commons

Bulmer Award plaque